top of page
  • Writer's pictureWendy

Personal Story from a Short-Term Homeschool Mom


I never saw myself homeschooling our children. Our first two children had taken the private school path without a thought of an alternative.  Our third child was born almost 9 years after our second. She was in line to continue in her siblings’ paths. Had it not been for a health crisis that forced me into an early retirement she would have probably stayed there and we would have missed out on an amazing and an invaluable experience…. Homeschooling!

Abby was nine years old when she finished 3rd grade.  I had undergone nearly a year of cancer treatment and come out the other side with a changed outlook on my world. Our fist two children were now both in college and my likelihood of ever returning to my career as a pediatrician was near zero. Most who know my story usually expect that reality must have been devastating.  In fact, I was looking forward to being able to spend more time with family.

The idea of homeschooling Abby began to flicker in my mind over the last half of her 3rd grade year.  As I began to investigate the possibility of making this huge step I found myself deep into the different theories, forms of, and almost a separate culture of the homeschooling universe.  I spoke with other homeschooling parents, personal friends who were school teachers, did hours of internet research.  I had so many questions and concerns.  Would I be able to teach Abby what she needed to learn? How would I know if I was teaching her what she needed to know? Who decides what she needs to know? Would she receive the socialization she needed?

So, I slowly was able to answer those questions to my satisfaction.  I knew immediately that I was a “school at home”type of homeschooler. I learned about the vast number of Homeschooling curricula that provided structured lesson plans, textbooks, worksheets, test banks, etc.  I found a local homeschool co-op program that I felt would assist with the socialization and would ease some of my teaching burden, and offered the standardized testing each year.  So then there was only one last hurdle. I had to sell my husband on the idea.  It took some time, but he was sold!

It was an adjustment, but each year I became more and more confident in our ability as parents to teach our child the traditional materials, requiring so much less time than she spent at school and then homework. This afforded us time to add other activities including violin to our daily schedule.  


She excelled in every area.  Her standardized tests each year showed her at the top of the percentiles. She was able to play in the local Symphony’s children's symphonia. If she had been in traditional school she would never have been able to put the amount of time and effort into the violin while continuing to excel academically.  

We continued to homeschool Abby for three years.  We made the decision to return to school after her 6th grade year.  She began to want to be around other kids her age and I felt at the time it was the best move for her and for our family. Her transition back to a Christian Middle School went well. She was academically well prepared for the seventh grade. She found her place there, continued her violin, and became very active in their chorus and musical theater program.  

I wouldn’t change a thing!!  Homeschooling is an awesome experience.  It is worth the time and effort. There are plenty of people, programs, literature, and computer based assistance.  You can tailor things to your style of education, your child’s needs and passions!  


It also doesn’t have to be a lifelong commitment. There are seasons in all of our lives. If you find yourself in a season where homeschooling makes sense , I urge you to take the leap and enjoy the journey.

22 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page